April 16th, Part IV

My mentor allowed me to closely observe the 2 students during their scale final. Since this was a final evaluation, we were not allowed to provide any form of feedback or correction until AFTER the session was complete. I could see the fear in the students’ eyes, and I could sense their nerves during the entire session. I watched the students scale their patients, and I mentally-noted what corrections I would like to make them aware of at the conclusion of the session. On several occasions, my mentor pulled me aside and asked me what I was seeing, and what I would suggest for improvement. It was very helpful for me to have these moments with my mentor to discuss what was going on in my mind while watching the students, and comparing that to what she was thinking.

Leave a Reply

