April 16th, Part III

The scale final is worth 10% of the students’ final clinic grade, and a failing grade for this evaluation results in the need for remediation and reassessment before they can progress into second-year clinic. My mentor and I were paired with 2 students to evaluate. One student passed and the other did not. It was very helpful for me to observe my mentor in how she handled both situations. She was very firm with her grading, but she was also very graceful and constructive with her comments and feedback to students. At this point, I have worked with several clinical instructors as HACC. My mentor, Megan, is by far my favorite person to work with because she is truly my personal role model for the type of instructor I would like to be one day.

Leave a Reply

